edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday, Tuesday.....

I�ve been thinking today about my trip to Idaho. It was a trip that I made with much hesitation, but was so fortunate to have gone on.

I thought I would be lost with out all of my �media� at my finger tips, and the first few days I was very restless. These feelings, however, went away. I was able to detoxify from the world and it was a good thing for me.

This detoxification gave me some new perspective on my feelings of angst regarding the wedding that I was at, and the wedding which I still have to attend.

Min�s wedding was very simple and very nice. The reception was at her parent�s home, she made her own wedding cake, and all of the food for the wedding lunch. Her sister arranged all of the flowers and made the bridal bouquet (which was, thankfully not thrown). All of the family set up and cleaned up, the children collected gifts and bussed the room. I mixed punch and was in charge of car decoration.

It was lovely this way. Min, did not expect anyone to bend and do things for her. She only asked people what she was willing to do herself.

Turn 180 degrees and see Kylee�s wedding on Friday. It has become the biggest production number of the year. The bride and groom are buying a house which won�t be ready for a month. They asked if they could move into the empty rental house next to my Granny�s house. This was a fine arrangement, until she went over to the house. She decided that the carpet was to �yucky� and that it would have to be replaced in order for them to stay the month. Well of course every one is now bending over backwards trying to fix the �problem� with out spending a fortune.

I say, suck it up for a month. You are never going to live in your parents house again, and to get to their level will take a while. But, of course, this will never happen. We must accommodate, we must appease the spoiled child.

Which kind of person do I want to be? The former rather than the latter.

**********

As much as my head was cleared this last week, a lot went on in the world.

I missed Tom Brokaw every night.

Some things did not change. The world is still going down the drain, there is still political in fighting, out fighting, pork barreling and wars of bullets and words raging.

**********

Last night I had an unexpected visitor. A guy from church needed to come by and get some papers from me. I was really irritated by this, because what he needed could have all been done over the phone. But being the nice person that I am I gave him directions to the Casa, and told him to come on down.

To my surprise, one of his buddies was with him. This guy, whom we will refer to hereafter as, Tuesday (seeing as yesterday was Tuesday), is someone that I have wanted to meet for a while now, but have not known how to approach.

As Paper-boy was filling out the forms he needed from me, Tuesday and I began to talk. He was admiring Father�s collection of German Beer Steins. Turns out Tuesday lived in Germany for a while. I slipped into the conversation that I had lived in Berlin for a short time. He was impressed, but he was more impressed that I understood German.

He moved on to looking at some of the old family photographs that are in the room ( he did not dust them, thankfully). The picture of my maternal grandfather in his Navy-blues before he was shipped off to war impressed him. I mentioned that we had just found that uniform when we cleaned out Granny�s house. Again, he was impressed.

He was so nice, and the conversation was so very pleasant. Turns out that we have a meeting on Sunday together how lucky, I get to talk to him again. Of course with my luck, this is all it will be. I can hope, ja?

***********

I remember the time when I came so close to you
Sent me skipping my class and running from school
And I bought you that ring cause I never was cool
What makes me think I can start clean-slated?
The hardest to learn was the least complicated

11:25 p.m. - June 12, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: