edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Guest Speaker....

Today at the Country Bumpkin High School�

A Guest Speaker.

Mr. G-S is talking to the children about the value of a college education. What can you expect to make in your life with just a high school diploma? Only $600,000. I�m not lying when I tell you pay attention children.

Anyway. I called Mr. G-S on Saturday afternoon to confirm that he was coming today. I called, what I thought was his office number. It was not; apparently it was a cell phone. I left a message and my own cell phone as the callback number.

Nigh about midnight on Saturday night I was sitting on my bed, minding my P�s and Q�s and my phone rang. My first thought was, �Who is dead?� (What else do you think when your phone rings in the middle of the night?)

It was Mr. G-S, calling from Florida, punch drunk and totally sloshed �with his boys at a wedding.� He did not know who I was or why he was calling me. Then he realized who I was, and proceeded to ask me if I was drinking and what I was doing. Then he said, �I can�t believe that this is a professional call.�

***Eden thinks to herself: Hmmm do you know what an idiot you are making of yourself?? You might want to stop soon.�

He ended with, �Yea, I�ll be there, whatever��

I was baffled t say the least.

So yesterday, the phone in my room rang. It was Mr. G-S calling to confirm his speaking engagement for today. He didn�t mention anything about his call on Saturday night. It made me laugh.

I don�t think he realized what an idiot he made of himself. I�m just laughing to myself as he is up in the front presenting not realizing what a dork he was on Saturday night.

8:09 a.m. - October 22, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: