edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Times Square, or adventures in BBQ sauce

Times Square�

What can be said about the center of the known universe? It�s big, I mean really, REALLY BIG! SOOOOOOO BIGGGGG! (Imagine my hands going from here to here�)

After the show we walked over to the intersection of 7th Ave and Broadway. There, pouring into the intersection were thousands of people, yellow taxis, musicians, pedestrians, lights, and us, the three goobers from Arizona.

I was just speechless. I mean, I�ve seen the ABC news ticker, and the NBC jumbotron (of course, I mean Tom Brokaw is on it every night, and we all know my thing for Tom Brokaw), the MTV studios, the Virgin Mega Store and so much more. We walked up one side of the street and down the other. I took another picture, just to prove I was there.

It was pouring rain, but I didn�t need my umbrella. Everyone had one, it was a giant sea of umbrellas, besides, I kept poking people in the face with mine. That�s bad umbrella etiquette, and heaven knows I didn�t want to be committing social faux pas in New York. After all I was trying to blend in. Of course the fact that my mouth was gaping open and my eyes were popped out like some sort of looney-toon, gave me away. �Hey I�m Ain�t Bea, just up frum th� Mayberry!!�

We were hungry so we went to Virgil�s BBQ, which, according to Zaget�s is the best BBQ in the city. Having never been anywhere else in the city, but having been a fan of BBQ for some time now, I would have to agree with Zaget�s on this one. Virgil�s was some mighty fine BBQ. I love pulled pork. This is why I cannot go vegi, ever!

After stuffing myself with pulled pork, greens, pecan rice and cornbread, I sat back to relax and digest. Unfortunately it was at this exact moment that a waiter spilled BBQ sauce all over me. The waiter didn�t know what he�d done and was gone in a New York minute. MY BIL flagged someone down and just pointed at me. Before I knew it, I was swarmed with people daubing me with club soda and apologizing. I began to laugh, then my sister started laughing at me, then I was laughing at her, laughing at me. It was all very comical. Only me, only in New York.

The head manager eventually came to me and offered to take my shirt on the spot to have it dry-cleaned. Hmmm, ok, so am I supposed to go nekked from here on out? No, instead they gave me a card to get my shirt cleaned. I don�t know what to do, however, the shirt is ruined. BBQ wouldn�t dry clean out of a cotton shirt even if God commanded it. Do I call and tell them or just suck it up? I don�t know. I�m still laughing at it all.

After dinner we left Times Square and made our way back to the Port Authority I turned to get one last look at Manhattan. I saw the faint outline of the Chrysler Building and the lights of the dome on its top glowing in the mist. It was beautiful.

I�ll be back New York, you can count on that. I�ll be back, and tour you, and become part of you. That�s a promise.

1:49 p.m. - October 21, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: