edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No answers, only observation


Please thank Libbyo for my new sassy layout. She is muchas talented, and a great girl!

*****

Cujus animam gementem, contristatam et dolentem pertransivit gladius. Quae moerebat et dolebat, et tremebat, cum videbat nati poenas inclyti.

Her grieving heart, anguished and lamenting, was pierced by a sword. She mourned and grieved and trembled as she saw the suffering of her son.

September 11th, one year later.

I have a new perspective on this event now. I have to answer the questions. My students only have asked �why?�

I have no answers.

I have been contemplating for many days how to approach this day. What should I teach? Should I go on as normal? There will be assemblies, songs, pledges, thank you�s, silent prayers offered, tears shed, I�m sure.

I put the following quote on the board for tomorrow: �Our greatest glory is in never failing, but in rising every time we fall.� ~~Confucius.

Something that a student said to me made me want to look for the positive in the madness of our new world, the madness of terrorism, of hate and of violence.

This young girl, not more than 16 years old, said, �You know, I am tired of seeing the buildings fall. I want to look at the positive of September 11th. We came together, we love our families more now, we reach out to each other more...look at the good.�

She is right. I don�t want to forget, but I want to see the good as well. I think America is rising slowly, but rising.

Tomorrow�s lesson: watching a short video called �September 11th: The First 30 Days.� It�s a good glimpse, a good way to remember.

Thursday, we�ll take that and build upon in class. We are going to study how the government, the citizenry, the economy reacted. I told my students, this is our government in action. This is what we are learning put into practice.

I hope they will understand, eventually.

Tomorrow, I just want to observe. Observe my students and help them understand.

Lend your voices only to sounds of freedom. Fill your lives with love and bravery, and we shall lead a life uncommon.

8:30 p.m. - September 10, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: