edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When curves demand....

�The percent change in the quantity demanded is equal to the price elasticity of quantity demanded�.....oh my aching head!

Why am I an Economics teacher again? Let�s review, I had to take beginning economics 3 times to pass in college.

I understand the concepts, but not enough to teach them! Holy cow! I just searched the internet for an hour trying to get some better teaching ideas. No luck.

I think this will separate the men from the boys here, all this demand, elasticity, supply, schedules, curves, graphs, inverse relationships, percent changes and etc. ad nauseum.

If you didn�t know it, you would have thought you were in a math class today. Graphs, equations and lines all over the board.

Who knows....

*****

So, the Flag Line needed a room to meet in after school today. I said sure. Big mistake!

The girls on the Flag Line have not changed over the years. They are very serious about it. It�s the most important thing in the world. They are the loud, strange girls that don�t seem to have a social group. Dregs of the social ladder.

I just sat there thinking, �quit telling everyone that your nick name is boobie and it�s an inside joke. If it�s an inside joke, then keep it inside.�

Strange.

*****

My kids missed me yesterday. Several of them left me notes on my desk, and one even offered to help grade papers for me. So sweet.

When I told them that I�d collapsed from exhaustion they were all worried about me.

I needed that today.

*****

Things are so much better for me today. My focus was exceptionally clear. I still don't know what direction I want my life to go, but my heart ache was only there in the early morning. I didn�t even cry today.

It was a good day.

Tomorrow I�m not so sure...here I go, demand curve and all.

10:38 p.m. - August 27, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: