edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Less than 48 hours to go...

Here I am, it�s Saturday.

The open house was not as bad as I expected. Some of the Student Council kids brought me dinner, and as I ate, I waited.

Many of my student�s and their families came. The parents I met weren�t so bad. I know I�d be kidding myself if I think this is how it will always be. I know it won�t, but it was nice to meet these people in the first place.

Friday, I sat in my room finishing my preparations for Monday. They were testing the fire alarm. To say it�s deafening is an understatement. It rang for 45 minutes. Huh? What�s that you say?

Then the electricity went out. Who knows why? I guess when they said they were over budget on this building, they weren�t kidding! I�m fortunate enough to have a room with windows. I kept right on working.

Finally it was time for me to leave. I phoned Mr. Levski to say hi, and he asked me how I was doing. �Fine I said. For some reason I�m not as mentally toasted today as I was yesterday.� Who knows how I�ll feel on Monday after school. We talked a little bit more about how I was feeling about the start of school, and then said good-bye.

I gathered my things and prepared to leave. Before I left I turned for one last one look at my room. There it was before me, dark, and silent.

As I looked on this scene tears welled up in my eyes and began to fall. It was a week of work before my eyes. But then I realized that it was more than one week. The room and the things that will go in inside of it represent two years of my life, two years of chasing a dream, two years of frustrations and grief, but also of many good and wonderful experiences and events.

I think I�m starting to sound redundant with all of these revelations that I am in fact going to be a school teacher. The reasons I think these thoughts is because in many ways it all is still a dream to me. It doesn�t seem quite real yet.

Monday it will be real. It�s not the first day I�m worried about, it�s the days that follow. The days were the rules are in place, and have to be followed. It�s making sure that I know what I�m talking about. It�s all about saving face.

Speaking of face...I need to go and finish my lesson plans for the first week. They�re due on Monday.

Stay tuned...this diary is getting good again. We have lift off in less than 48 hours!

12:54 p.m. - August 03, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: