edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Green Monster

Here goes, the first days of school.

I�ve been in some meetings. Lots of meetings. I think I�ve filled out my address about a million times.

I�m making choices. Do I want flex-spending, do I want supplemental life insurance, do I want the alternative dental plans? Tax sheltered annuities, deductibles, beneficiaries...and the list goes on. I stopped listening when I got hungry.

A tired, hungry, and nervous Eden is a dangerous combination. Stand back, I also felt a tad queasy. Will all of this prepare me for motherhood one of these days?

******

My classroom. Oh my lovely green classroom! I like it, I love it, I want some more of it! The south wall is big and green, just like the outfield wall in Fenway. I�ve dubbed it the Green Monster! The desks are green, the carpet is a nice multi colored purple and my desk is peach. The room of many colors.

I have to say that I have the best department co-workers. They snagged me so many good and useful things. Two bookshelves, a computer desk and new filing cabinets. Today the three of us (that�s the whole social studies department) went a �shopping�. Our shopping trip consisted of finding tables for our classroom computers (which will not arrive or be up until November) and a desk for me. We just took what wasn�t being used from empty classrooms. All the vice-principal said as she was hold the doors open for us was, �I know nothing!� Yes, I do believe there is a little bit of Sergeant Shultz in all of us.

This afternoon I worked for about 3 hours after we were done foraging and pillaging setting up my classroom. I�m about 75% of the way there. My walls are covered with flags of the world. My favorite is the Gadsen Flag which is yellow with a coiled snake. It bears the phrase �Don�t tread on me.� I think that send a clear message about what kind of a teacher I am going to be.

Monday brings more meetings, and more work in the classroom. The teacher I replaced, left me 4 boxes full of books, so I have to rummage through those on Monday, as well as attend some more meetings!

Oh yippy skippy!

It�s been a fun summer, the best on record, and I think it�s going to be a good first day of school too!

8:47 p.m. - July 26, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: