edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A few things that have made me mad!

I am not a parent. I don�t feel that I am in a place to judge people that are parents, and how they are taking care of their children. I have observed two things in the last week that make my blood boil!

First, on Monday, I was at the library. As I was getting into my car, a group of kids, about 8 total, ran up to the pick-up truck that was parked next to my car. These kids proceeded to pile into the back of this truck.

Am I the only one that saw a problem with this? Not only is it illegal in the state of Arizona, it�s highly irresponsible. Way to go Mom, you�ve just turned every kid in the back of your truck into a missile. If you are in an accident, even at a low rate of speed, they will all go flying. There will be nothing to protect them; they will have to be scraped off of the road.

Second, the 62nd child drowning of the year in Phoenix was reported on the news tonight.

There was no pool fence, at this house, and the pool was full of murky water. The adult in the home thought by locking the screen door his child would be safe. Wrong, wrong, wrong!

The only things that will protect kids from drowning are grown-ups that watch them, and fenced pools with locked gates. Really though, the only thing that will protect a child from drowning in a back yard pool, is to get rid of the pools, and take the kids to the community pool.

It�s saddening, it�s heartbreaking. I�m mad. Kids need the protection of adults, but with the caliber of adults that I observed this week, I�m not so sure.

11:30 p.m. - July 18, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: