edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fire

This week I have watched my state burn up in forest fires, some of the worst fires in a decade.

The pictures that have been broadcast on the television are how I�ve always imagined the end of the world to be. The sky is orange with flame; the green of the trees is broken by thick black smoke and a snowy gray blanket of ash. It�s a churning monster whose hunger is only consumed by trees, houses and lives.

Twenty thousand people have been evacuated.

The media keep interviewing these people, people who have been displaced, people who do not know if they have a home to go home to. Grown men with tears in their eyes watch and try to explain to their families what they will do next.

One lady, whose home was lost in the fire, was more concerned with the lives of the firefighters than with her own well being. To me this was a display of true love.

The people of my state have really opened up their hearts, homes and pocketbooks to relieve the suffering of these people. Over 1,000 sleeping bags have been donated; gallons of water, truckloads of food have all been given.

All I have done today is pray for rain, and prayed for the safety of the firefighters, and for the peace of mind of the refugees.

The thing that is most upsetting in this whole mess is that all of these fires could have been prevented. They could have been prevented if people would have been more careful, if people would have not been selfish. If people would have obeyed the law and not started fires in the forest.

Tonight I am thankful for my home, and family, but my heart is with the displaced and homeless. All I can do is continue to pray.

10:51 p.m. - June 23, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: