edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Four things that crossed my mind today

H is for HOT. Summer has officially begun. Today in the lovely Phoenix metro area it was (drum roll please�) 110 degrees Fahrenheit!

Thank you, we will be scraping the melted off the sidewalk after the sun has gone down! If you are missing someone, you can pick them up in specially marked Dixie cups at the community pool.

*****************

I have a new favorite author, Ethan Canin. My good friend Mr. Levski has been bugging me for a while now to get a hold of some of his work. Last night I was in Borders and I snagged the last copy of a collection of short stories called, The Palace Thief. When I got home I started reading and I am totally hooked on Ethan Canin, and he�s not too bad to look at either.

It was the end of summer. The Red sox were having a miserable year, mucking around in the bottom of the division that they�d won just two years before, losing game in every manner. Each afternoon, they went out under the cloudless Fenway sky and broke the city�s heart. This is what the fans said. The old guys, the women in windbreakers, they all had liked to say that the Red Sox had been cursed since 1920, the year they sold Babe Ruth to the Yankees. On Yawkley Way in front of the stadium, standing with the sausage barkers, they said, don�t put your heart behind this team. All they would do is break it.

Does that make you want to go home, Nightdragon?

*****************

My mother asked me today if I was still feeling good about my job. Yes I am, although, my principal called me at 7 am this morning. I thought the phone was a fire alarm, I don�t know why, maybe it was because I had only 4 hours of sleep under my belt at the time. I�m addicted to middle of the night M*A*S*H reruns, it�s bad really.

I do think it is funny that all of my relatives have asked me, after they have offered their congratulations, how much money I will be making, as well. I tell them a million dollars. Granny actually believed me, but then again Granny thinks I have a boyfriend. Granny is delusional.

******************

Speaking of boys, boyfriends, men, dating and all of my relationship angst�Now that I have some time to kill, a month and a half to be exact, I need to broaden my social horizons. But what and how to accomplish this remain a mystery.

To quote Charlie Brown: �I�m usually awful at parties and dances. I stand like a stick or I cough, or I laugh, or I don�t bring a present, or I spill the ice cream or I get so depressed that I stand and I scream!!

If I could only find a George Emerson to come and kiss me in a field of violets, that would make the summer oh so much better *sigh*.

George had turned at the sound of her arrival. For a moment he contemplated her, as one who had fallen out of heaven. He saw radiant joy in her face, he saw the flowers beat against her dress in blue waves. The bushes above them closed. He stepped quickly forward and kissed her.

This, however is a subject that I do not wish to comment on anymore at this time, but if any of ya�ll (that is a tribute to my Texan readers) have any suggestions, drop a line.

This makes me think to much. I can�t think too much right now, I have a M*A*S*H rerun to watch.

12:37 a.m. - May 31, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: