edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A poem and a Qutoe for this weekend

Grass

Pile the bodies high at Austerlitz and Waterloo. Shovel them under and let me work � I am the grass; I cover all.

And pile them high at Gettysburg, and pile them high at Ypres and Verdun. Shovel them under and let me work.

Two years, ten years and passengers ask the conductor: �What place is this? Where are we now?�

I am the grass, let me work.

~~Carl Sandburg, 1918

Memorial Day 2002.

��We here highly resolve that this nation, shall have a new birth of freedom, and that the government of the people, by the people and for the people shall not perish from the earth.� ~~Abraham Lincoln, 1863.

Let�s remember the good and the bad, look at the beautiful things around, and be thankful we have them.

Have a safe and very good weekend to all�Eden

11:00 p.m. - May 23, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: