edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

200 Days of Eden

Cue Awards Show-style theme music, cue bright lights and roll that red carpet for the Eden�s Garden 200th Entry Spectacular!!! Starting: Matt Damon, Hugh Grant, Cher, Sting, Jared from Subway, with updates from, the Junior High Near You, the Diaryland 25 and a special appearance by Eden herself. Tonight�s entry is sponsored by the 1976 Plymouth Volarie and the Number 8.

In honor of this momentous occasion, I took the advice of my good friend Mr. Levski and went to the movies�alone. I know it sounds weird, it�s fun though. I went and saw About a Boy staring Hugh Grant, one of tonight�s special guests. It was a good movie, I�ll spare you the details other than two little old ladies sat next to me and used my knees as banisters when they needed to leave the theater. I don�t like my knee�s being touched unless by an authorized member of the opposite sex.

I�ve had a few interesting things happen to me over the last few days.

Today, while substitute teaching, one fine young lad asked me if I would sign his year book. I don�t know why he wanted me to sign it, he said �just because�. Alright so I told him to have a good summer and to practice his cello once in a while.

I saw one of the students I�ve taught several times before at the Piggley-Wiggley. He saw me and then chased his mom around the store until she saw me. It was awkward for her, I was ambivalent, I just was trying to find the migraine flavored Tylenol.

Yesterday was a watershed day for me. But, let me preface Tuesday by explaining about Monday. I got home from teaching at Satan�s Prep School, which was better than Friday, by the way. There was a message on the answer-phone for me. It was a principal wanting to interview me. Of course I called her right back.

She sounded like she was from Brooklyn and I immediately loved her. She said I had the most well rounded qualifications. She wants me to teach Government and Economics. I guess all the hours I spent cursing in the Econ Lab in college are paying off. Then she said, �I notice you have some musical experience. Do you know how to do choreography? I bet you�re wondering why I�m asking about music?� No, I knew why, she wants me to help with the musical. So we scheduled an interview for Tuesday.

I drove out to this little school, which is at the other end of the county to meet with her and the department head. When I got to the office, I felt at home. I met the principal and she invited me into her office. We talked for a few minutes and she asked if I�d like to go out to the new building. �Of course.� So into her car we climbed and off to the new building we drove.

It was simply beautiful. The classrooms were so big, the walls were painted with such bright colors. I was a kid, and it was Christmas.

When we got back to the old school, we scheduled another interview with the parent/student committee for next week.

By the time I got home she had called Mr. Mac, my co-op teacher. She wanted to get the skinny on me. She thought I was 21 and just fresh out of school. I am fresh, I am just out of school, but I was 21 a long time ago. Apparently she was very impressed and is going to offer me a contract after our meeting on Tuesday.

As I was listening to all of this on my answer-phone, feelings started to well up in me. I think it was a mix of happiness, excitement and relief. I didn�t realize how stressed out I�ve been about the whole job issue. It was like the Hoover Dam broke and my tears were the Colorado River, sorry Lake Havasu City you�ve just been washed away.

I will mention religion here. I believe in prayer and I�ve been praying for a job every night and most of every day since last August. This is an answer to those prayers. Granted I�ve not been officially been offered a job yet, but at least this gives me hope that I won�t have to stress out all summer.

Thanks for tuning into this Edition of Eden�s Garden. Here�s to the next 100 entries. Thanks for sticking with me, thanks for all the presents and money you keep sending, oh wait that�s only in my imagination.

Now I�m going to go find Matt Damon and whomp him for not showing up tonight�jerk!

8:25 p.m. - May 22, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: