edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I smell a lesson plan here

It�s 5:30 am, my phone rings, it can only be one thing�

SUBSTIUTUE HOTLINE�(cue some sort of Batman-esque theme music!)

I went back into the inner city today, but had an experience vastly different than last Tuesday, even though it was the same grade and same subject.

It helps so much when there is a lesson plan, when the classroom is in order, and when the students know what is expected of them.

Thanks, and I mean it this time!

===========================================

If you are not a PBS watcher, this is the month to become one. This month PBS is airing a show called Frontier House.

The idea for the show was taken form the BBC show, The 1900 House. In the Frontier House three typical American families were chosen to go and live on the Montana prairie as if they were Homesteaders in 1883.

Last night our PBS affiliate aired episodes 1 & 2. Tonight is 3 & 4. I can�t wait!

The families were taken and given training for their 5 months out on the range. It was so interesting to see the different attitudes and reactions of the three families.

The Glenn�s, who are my favorite, were totally prepared to leave the 21st century behind and become pioneers. They got right to work in building the things that they needed, planting and taking care of their animals. The mom is very practical and totally cool! She reminds me of my good friend from school, Amy.

The second family, The Brooks, were a father and son pair. I really liked them too. I think for them it was an opportunity to grow together. They were happy to start work as well and do what they could to make their lives work.

The Clume�s, from Malibu, were not as willing, nor prepared to meet the challenges that they were going to face. The teenaged daughters, snuck in make-up, toothpaste and eyelash curlers. They also complained at having to do any sort of work. Mr. Clume admitted that his kids don�t do much of anything, and that he now felt bad for bringing them to Montana.

My take on the Clume�s, GROW UP!!! ALL OF YOU!! Life is not all California dreaming and fun at the mall. I actually felt bad for them though, when a June snow storm caught them off guard and they were freezing and miserable. But, that�s about it.

This is better than reality TV, this is real life. Tune in, and if you don�t have access to PBS, log on the website.

How would I have survived as a woman in 1883? I don�t know. I�ll have to think about it and get back�oh! I smell a good lesson plan here!!!!!!

6:56 p.m. - April 30, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: