edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Peeps in your eyes!

�Hello, I�m your substitute teacher. There will be no screwing around, there will be order, I am the enforcer.�

Today I was rousted from my bed at a rude hour to go back to the Junior High near you to teach what I thought was going to be �English.� At least that�s what the recording said. Can you tell it wasn�t English? You�re smart!

Special Ed reading, which basically was all of the kids on meds, behavior contracts and with �special needs�. In fact, one kid walked in and announced to me that he was on meds. I could see that he was trying to get a rise out of me, or scare me. So what kid, you�re on meds, so is half of the school. �Did you take your meds?� I asked. �Um, yes� was the timid response.

What an adventure.

The kids were reading �The Outsiders� by S.E. Hinton. They had to choose a character from the book and write about 3 character traits that charachter did or did not display.

Here is a sample:

�Ponyboy was a fair person, because he shared his cigarettes with everyone.�

�Ponyboy showed respect because he snuck his brothers into the movies.�

�Derry showed kindness because he cheered up the burned kid, I think?�

I did see several of my former students as well, and they were all so happy to see me. In fact they came running up to me��Ms. Eden, Ms. Eden, guess what� When are you coming back? We miss you.� Thanks kids, I actually I miss you too. You�ve made me feel very good, and very loved. See, teenagers are not as bad as every one thinks.

I did talk to Michelle today as well. Oh, this legal battle is going to be a mess. She has been denied due process, and has had her 1st, and 14th Amendment rights violated. I feel bad for her. She told me that she is not as strong as everyone thinks. No one, except Mr. Mac will talk to her. But she says she�s going to stay until they cart her away.

Quote of the Day: �She threw a peep at my eye.�

Peeps in your eyes a nasty school administrators!

7:41 p.m. - April 08, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: