edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fashion tips and the decision

As a follow up to yesterday�s entry, I read in the paper today, that on Friday, the kids staged a sit-in at lunch in support of Michelle. This situation is far from over.

==========================================

Eden�s fashion tips: Part 1 I look stupid in Capri pants, I don�t know when I will ever realize this and stop wasting my time by trying them on.

Part 2: I don�t which fashion designer thought that the color �Chartreuse� was fashionable. I wait for the day it is no longer available. No one, not even Cher, Madonna, or Britney Spears should wear chartreuse.

Part 3: Along this same line, I wait with out patience for the day that �stretch� fabric also goes out of style. I mean let�s be serious here, who wants to have every bump and curve accentuated? Not this pear shaped beauty. Not to mention the fact, that it does not wash and wear nicely!

Part 4: I was at Target today (ah yes, my favorite shopping emporium) I saw some very scary things in the ladies clothing section. Converging horizontal stripes in a palate of colors that included: salmon pink, chartreuse (there it is again nasty ol� bugger), royal blue and coffee brown. Does anyone else see the error in this combination? But wait, I could buy this and wear it to the Decade Party* I�ve been invited to. *(which will be featured in future episodes of my life) Ah-ha!

=============================================

Thursday April 4th

I went to the wedding of an old and very dear friend. At the wedding I sat next to another very old and dear friend, Ivan. Ivan and I, along with our other two friends Robert and Matt were inseparable in high school. In fact, I called them the �898� boys, because all of their phone numbers started with the prefix �898�.

It was nice to see him again, and talking with him brought back so many good memories of the things we used to do and the people we used to know. It was also nice to talk to some one with no agenda, it was conversation in its purist form.

Of course the conversation drifted to the subject of the ever popular 11 year class reunion. Ivan didn�t know if he was going to go yet. I told him I wasn�t sure. He said if we ended up going that we should sit by each other, for the simple fact that I was the only person he still liked from the old High School days.

Also in attendance at the wedding was another old friend. Gina and I were in the 7th grade together. She was part of the �ber-popular crowd, I was not. Gina however was the kind of person that knew everyone�s name and was friends with every one, no matter who they were, or their place in the 7th grade food chain. She told me that she liked me because I used to draw her pictures of elephants in Math class. I don�t remember this, but it seems like something I would have done.

Our conversation drifted to all things professional. She is a school teacher, Ivan chimed in with the fact that I�ve recently received my certification and that I was looking for work. Gina said: �Eden, there is a Social Studies opening next year at my school. Let me take your card and tell my principal about you. I�ll also tell the department head about you and what good elephants you draw.�

Thank you all so much, and I really mean that. The job search is actually more nerve wracking that I allude to. It�s nice to know that people are willing to look out for me.

The wedding, itself was beautiful. The man that married Ally and her groom, gave them some very wise counsel. I think in a way, he was trying to convey his message to the whole congregation; Which I actually appreciated. His advice helped me understand some of my recent insecurities about relationships and how I can overcome them.

It was a lovely day, and I�m so glad that I was able to go and see Ally get married, and reconnect with my old friends, the people that really know me, and truly love me.

With all of this said, I have made my decision on whether to go, or not to go. I am going, to the 11 year high school class reunion. I am, in fact, going both nights, and I am wearing a red dress! Many thanks to all who helped me decide and for all of the good advice that I got from, La, Sa, Nightdragon, Mandolen, Kathy, Mr. Levski (via phone), Ducky and Lifeblood (via personal contact) and my best friend Toast, who can�t go.

Now, if you will all excuse me Romey & Michelle�s High School Reunion is on the boob toob right now, I need to go watch it so that I can get in the right frame of mind.

On the record player: �Forever Young� by Alphaville.

8:20 p.m. - April 06, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: