edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

To hell and back....

I�ve been to hell and back. I�ve found where the devil himself lives��WAL-MART.

Every time I go to Wal-Mart, thinking I�m going to save a few pennies, I am assaulted with the grim reality that saving a few pennies is not worth the price of loosing your sanity.

Case in point�Whist perusing the Health and Beauty section I encountered a woman chatting on her cell phone. Not only do I think this is rude, but her brood of children were hanging out of the basket, throwing things as passers by, and playing some sort of dodge ball game with a bottle of shampoo. Great, thanks.

While in the �Home Office� section, I nearly was run over by Grandma Moses and her grandchildren. I swear, I feel safer driving on the Phoenix freeways during rush hour, than trying to navigate my way through the aisles of Wal-Mart.

After moving on, I was cut off by a woman and her son in the furniture department, oh but wait, it wasn�t just the two of them. She apparently had brought the whole �cool dude� posse along. There were at least 12 boys in tow. I guess it really is cheaper by the dozen.

Let�s not even talk about the check out. Ok, well I�ll give it just one word: ZOO!

Where do these people come from? Now I have even more compassion for Sa the popsicle. I think all of the Trucker�s Daughter�s relatives and relations were at the Wal-Mart today.

Next time I�ll stay at Target!

What is it with infomercials and Saturday afternoons? Today as I was randomly flipping the TV channels I counted at least 10 different infomercials. So, for easy payments of $19.95 a month I could be the proud owner of a Ronco grill oven, Bo-flexer/Thighmaster combo, or get a set of really cool frying pans (heart shape pancake maker and easy batter dispenser included). For one easy payment of $39.95 I could have been the owner of the latest Richard Simmons weight loss/exercise program (what is it with him and those sparkly tank tops?), environmentally sound paint remover (it�s even used in the Capitol Building in Washington DC), acne medicine, a vegetable chopper set, knives (no they were not the Amazing Ginsu knives), personal finance software and the Regis Philbin 1950s music collection. I wonder how much room I�d have in my house if I actually succumbed to all of those sales pitches and bought all of that stuff. But really do people buy this stuff, and is it all really �space-age� and �state of the art�?

Last night I went to the school play. It was junior high drama at it�s finest. There were no sets, no spot lights and they wore their own clothes for costumes. But, let me say, that I had a thoroughly enjoyable time. Many of my students were in this production, in fact, my shy kid in 5th hour had a featured roll as the hula-hoop guy. And Alfala played the �Fonzi� characheter, �Fatsarelli aka Fatsi.�

Oh, this is the life! Only one more week of the madness, only one more week of no money, only one week till I see my sister and the babies, only one week until I have my life back. I think March will be my New Year. I want a bee-hive hair doo like Lisa Loeb, a new paint job on my car, some one to snuggle up to when I watch movies under my blanket on the couch, and�WORLD PEACE!

Oh, I�m silly.

7:17 p.m. - March 02, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: