edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Detention, detention, detention...

Oh, I�m so glad this week, no, just this day is over. No really both.

I gave out about 15 detentions to unprepared students today. I was the hiss and the by-word in the 8th grade today. The excuses ranged from, �I forgot it at home� to �Well I was absent the day you assigned it (Tuesday), so I should get an extra day.� Whatever, you had the whole week to get it done. One girl who was absent on Tuesday never bothered to ask me about her make up work, despite the fact that I reminded them everyday this week about the assignment and the impending test on this assignment. This same girl also sits right in front of the assignment calendar on the board, where this was all written in big red ink. She had the nerve to blame me for her lack of preparation. I think her mother will be one of the parents calling next week.

Today was also career day at the Junior High. What a joke. Eighth graders don�t care about careers, well at least most of them don�t. They were more interested in getting free stuff and being out of class for 45 minutes. Everyone was supposed to stay with their class, ha!

Back to the free stuff; there was an orthodontist there. He was giving out pairs of latex gloves. BAD IDEA!! BAD IDEA!! BAD IDEA!! You do the math, teenagers + latex gloves = water balloons. The other possibilities for mischief are endless. These were not ordinary latex gloves however. They were grape flavored. Yes, they now have flavored latex gloves.

So, second hour started after this career fair was over. The kids were all wound up, they were also smelly and stinky from being outside in the 85 degree weather (yes, it�s that hot here already). I call that smell, the recess smell, it�s not pretty. Combine that smell with the smell of the grape gloves. It was sick, it was so sick. I made them throw away their smelly gloves, I wish I could hose them all down. But here is the kicker; I was out on campus later in the day, and I still saw kids wearing their gloves. Yuck!

I�m so glad the week is over. Tomorrow it�s the Highland Games! I�ve been waiting all year for this. Dancers, pipers, caber tossing, and sheep herding! I love being Scottish!!!

9:44 p.m. - February 22, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: