edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A report from the Field...Near, far, where ever you are...

"I'm lost," I said, though I knew he was sleeping. "I'm empty and aching and I don't know why" Counting the cars on the New Jersey Turnpike, they've all come to look for America�

All come to look for America

All come to look for America

The field trip went off with out a hitch. All of the children had a good time, and no one died as a result of being paired with a special ed student, our lunch was very tasty and our senses of history and culture were enriched.

I think I forgot to mention that we went and saw artifacts from the Titanic. I must admit that I have never been a big Titanic fan, not even back in the heyday of 1997. But seeing articles of clothing, letters, dishes, hairbrushes and the like, made this even in history quite real to me.

It was interesting as I wandered thru the exhibit with my students to hear their comments. Most of their frames of reference for the Titanic were from the 1997 movie �Titanic.� I had to keep pointing out that Rose and Jack were not real people.

Perhaps the most interesting artifact was a section of the hull that was recovered in 1998. At first glance I thought it was a reproduction, but it was not. The hull of the ship was thinner than I thought it would be. This section of metal, measuring only 25x18 feet weighed over 25 tons.

And that was the field trip.

Upon my arrival back at school I found out that I had a parent/teacher/principle meeting. Apparently the father of one of the kids on the Newspaper staff didn�t like the fact that his daughter, a typical A student was getting a C in the class. Mr. Mac laid it out very plainly for the gentleman. �Your daughter is not doing her work!� I wanted to tell him really all the crap she pulls in class, but I guess parents tend to get defensive upon that kind of news, so I held my tongue.

This is all for now, I�ve decided to end my sabbatical from men; I need to go on a diet, and get my hair cut as well. Two more weeks of teaching, and then I�ll have to go get a job that pays in money, not experience. I�m out of Tic-tacs, I�m tired of my clothes, the paint on my car is peeling and I need to go to sleep, or I�ll be sorry tomorrow. Now wasn�t that a huge grouping of nothing in particular all put into one paragraph. Talk about taking out the trash.

PS...Nightdragon, have you figured out that the piture on the top right on my page is the Public Garden in Boston???

11:05 p.m. - February 19, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: