edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Prelude to a Field Trip

Here I sit at the end of a very unproductive and uneventful day. Big events for today, getting up, getting dressed, going to lunch, taking a nap and playing with the cat.

Did I mention that I am taking the mini-deodorant brigade on a field trip tomorrow? We are going to a museum in Phoenix. Friday I fought them tooth and nail on what was considered �appropriate clothing.� I tried to explain that they were representing the school, so they needed to look good. This meant no shorts, no tank tops, and no ratty or faded jeans. I suggested that the girls might want to wear a skirt and the guys might want to wear khakis or Dockers. You would have thought, by their reactions, that I had asked them to remove an eye.

One of the boys tried to argue the point that if they were representing the school, then they should wear shorts and t-shirts, because that was a true representation of the school. No, my child, wearing shorts and the like, is a representation, not being a representative. The words are very different. In my defense one of the girls said that once she had gone to a nice restaurant and she felt very embarrassed because she was underdressed. Thank you.

They are also in a fit because the special ed classes are coming on this adventure. I am thrilled that they are coming. I think it will be good for the �normal� kids to interact with their handicapped and/or disabled classmates. I think that my students need to see that because they are �normal� does not make them better. Everyone deserves the chance to go out and have cultural experiences and have a good time as well. I know, from talking to the special ed teacher that his students have been practicing table manners, and learning about the exhibit that we are going to.

In the end I told my students if they didn�t like the rules, they didn�t have to go. A few of them sat and wined some more, and finally decided that they didn�t want to go. Fine, this is good for the rest of us, we won�t have to listen to them complain.

So, I�ll report on this tomorrow�

I have a question for all of you that read this page. Is the big yellow flower graphic loading anymore? It�s not loading for me�I�m going to try and fix this problem. Ok, how is the yellow too>? Until I get this graphic problem worked out I thought I'd give the page some color...

7:45 p.m. - February 18, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: