edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kisses from Conrad, oh yes it's true.

I�ve been absent from Diaryland for the past few days and my entries have been sporadic at best, as of late. Things have been crazy, and tonight is no different, I am so thankful that tomorrow is President�s Day, and that I don�t have to do anything, be anywhere or impress anyone. Now, if �This Old House� were on, it would be perfect!

Yesterday I had the best day! A group of people from my church put on what is called, �Play in a Day.� Yes, it is just what it sounds like, we put on a play in one day, and it was so fun!

We started at 8 am and went till midnight. The first hour or so was spent learning the music, to that sensation of Broadway past, BYE BYE BIRDIE! Next came the chorography. Yes, it was sloppy, messy and oh so corny � lots and lots of step kicks, jazz hands, and jazz squares. We couldn�t do anything really difficult, because we lacked time and ability, but we managed to pull off a pretty decent looking program. I was one of the directors. It was so satisfying to see my ideas come together and that my friends were actually having fun being silly and loud and having grand time.

Our costumes were as simple as our dance moves. The guys all had white t-shirts and jeans, and the girls wore red, green and blue dollar store t-shirts, with scarves. But the crowning glory of our show was our Conrad Birdie. Oh so campy, oh so �Tom Jones ala �What�s up Pussy Cat�� so �Elvis in Vegas.� One of the other directors managed to find this �Elvis� style jumpsuit, and the rest of us managed to pour Conrad into it. It was perfect, and Conrad, once in his jumpsuit, never broke character. He was a maniac, swaggering around the hall, kissing hands and cheeks. Conrad did remark to me in a quiet moment that wearing this costume had given him a new appreciation for women and all of the supportive clothing we have to wear. AMEN to that Conrad!

So, out show started out with all of the girls in the back of the hall reciting the Conrad Birdie Pledge of Allegiance. �I, being of sound mind and body, do solemnly pledge allegiance to Conrad Birdie, and The United States of America!� �We love you Conrad, oh yes we doooo-hooo, we don�t love anyone as much as yoooo-hooooo!! When you�re not near us, we�re Blu-oooohooo, oh Conrad we love yooooou!!!!� We then proceeded to rush the stage, and Conrad. We sang, we danced, I was a soloist in the �Telephone Hour�, and prominently featured on the front row of every song. Funny how that worked out, seeing as how I directed some of these numbers :).

Being on the front row had its advantages and disadvantages. Advantage: I was seen by all, and I saw everyone in the audience. I was closest to Conrad Birdie, which meant that I got to be kissed by Conrad Birdie several times, lovely. Disadvantage: the front row always ends up kneeling down a lot. Consequently today, my legs burn, and are in pain. I can stand and I can sit. It�s just getting there that kills me.

We performed our show three times over the course of the night. We traveled between two different church buildings, and then we had a performance for all of the other groups. Everyone did a great job, but none as good as us!

At the cast party we gathered around to present our directors and all involved with some flowers. I was the one that ended up dolling out the blooms. It came down to the last flower, and I said, �Who is this one for?� Everyone yelled, �You!� to which I responded, �All I really want is another kiss from Conrad Birdie!� After which, Conrad promptly swaggered over and scooped me up and planted the biggest kiss right on my lips. The rest of the cast sat there in amazement. Don�t worry guys, it�s the only lip action I�ll get this year.

I just can�t tell you how fun this whole experience yesterday was for me. I was able to participate in one of my favorite things, theater, be with friends, and make new friends. Today at church we all looked at each other and smiled, because we all had such a great time!

We love you Conrad, oh yes we do, we don�t love anyone like we love you. When you�re not near us, we�re blue. Oh Conrad we love YOU!! Oh and feel free to come and kiss me anytime too. ;)

8:42 p.m. - February 17, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: