edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Underwear Band

Oh what a day, what a day. It was Valentine�s Day in 8th grade. My children are already hyped up on gallons of Coke, Dr. P. Skittles, and other assorted sweets, today it was magnified by 10. Ya, they were wired, to say the least. This is why I purposely planned a video today. It was called �The Rise of Hitler.� They were shocked at some of the things that he did to usurp power. War is hell kids.

On the funny front in 8th grade: I have a student (this is the leader of the mini-deodorant brigade) that is, like many his age, an aspiring musician. So today, he announces, that he doesn�t want to have a �garage band,� rather, he�d rather have an �underwear band.� Huh? You�re asking. Yes, an underwear band. He says that he�s more comfortable in his briefs when he plays, and that if they were to play �au tidy-whitey� they�d have a better chance at snagging some hot babes. Again, I�m laughing.

I learned today, that opportunity is not a lengthy visitor. I�ve been searing the web for a ticket to Montreal to visit a friend. (I�m stealing away from my sister�s house in Penn for a few days). The price, over the last few weeks, has been hovering around $195-$210, a reasonable amount I think. Well last night I logged on for my daily check, and to my horror, the price had shot up to well over $700. HOLY COW! I was heartbroken! I should have gone into Bulgaria mode. Buy it when you see it, because when you come back, it will be gone. Lesson learned, today the price went back down, I�ll be buying tonight.

It�s a wacky time here in Arizona, weather wise I mean. It�s really quite pleasant during the day, but in the morning, I have to use the heater in my car and on the drive home, I turn on the A/C. I just find it ironic.

Have you noticed that Kelly Rippa (Regis� new co host) is looking more and more like Kathy Lee all the time? Well at least she isn�t as annoying as Kathy Lee. Not that I have ever watched this show more than 3 times, but I think it�s strange.

And another weird news story out of Kansas. A high school biology teacher suspected some of her students cheated on their final project. She made copies of the projects, and did the appropriate checking, and discovered that, in fact, cheating had occurred. She did what any good teacher would and should do, she took the problem to her administrators (who backed her up) and she failed the students who cheated. Calls from parents ensued, demanding that the grades be raised. Some parents also demanded an apology from this teacher because, �How dare she accuse my sweet child of cheating!!� These parents also are claiming that their children did not know that copying word for word form another person�s work without citation, is plagiarism, CHEATING!

GET REAL people! You cannot, nor have you ever been able to take credit for another person�s work with out it being cheating.

To make the story more exciting, the school board got involved. After meeting behind closed doors, they also demanded that this teacher raise the grades of these children. She refused, and resigned. Some parents are cheering her, and others are chiding her for her decision to stand by her principles and do the right thing. This has become such and issue that most of the staff at the school is talking of resignation as well.

I just wonder what the parents of these cheaters are trying to teach their kids through this whole experience. It�s acceptable to lie about what you do; that it�s acceptable to steal someone else�s work and not give them credit? I wonder what will happen to these kids in the real world. I hope they get eaten alive and spit back out. But then again, their parents will probably come to their rescue then as well.

Fun for me, look what I get to deal with.

8:40 p.m. - February 14, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: