edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Put on your party face, Peppy the Clown is in town.

Today, where *do* I start? The weekend was productive, but not as much as I would have liked it to be.

Friday night, the little girls came over for some 'cheezy petezia' and Grandma time. We ended up in the living room, with M-4 the 18 month old, fascinated by the blinking Christmas tree lights, and with M-3 the three year old, giving commentary on the Nativity.

Thirty years ago when Mother and Father were first married, they, as many newly weds typically are, were dirt poor. Mom made a nativity scene out of old thread spools and felt. This Nativity still has a place of honor in the family and the best thing about it is, that small children, such as the little girls, can thrash on it with out too much harm. M-3 looked at the Wise Men and said, "Oh look Grandma! Here are some princesses! She soon changed her mind and said, "No, I don't think they are princesses, they are the Kingdoms." Yes, the Kingdoms. She then grabbed the Baby Jesus and paraded him around the house screaming, "It Jesus' birthday!!"

Happy Birthday to you!

Saturday I headed out for the Mall, to see what adventure I could find, or was it my death wish? I'm not sure. I found a semi-primo parking space, and embarked on my journey. It was crowded, but to my surprise, people were relatively nice and there wasn't too much confusion amid the racks of clothing, chocolate, toys and gadgets. Four hours later, I emerged with a nice new red sweater, and some other assorted and sundry items. So today I'm wearing my new red sweater and I want to wear it for the rest of the week. It's funny how new clothes make you feel new.

I also went to the Company Christmas party on Saturday night. Wow, what a waste of three hours! I like my coworkers, but I don't like socializing with them. I just don't do well at parties or the party faces that everyone seems to put on. For example, my boss is a curmudgeon in the office, but Saturday night he was Peppy the Clown working the crowd. I guess to me, it just seems really fake; he should be that nice all the time. I guess part of my frustration also stems from the fact that I'd been invited to another party, which I would have been more comfortable at, not to mention, I would have had more fun at, to go to the office party. I wont even mention the pile of stuff I had to do at home, that I could have gotten done during that time either. I don't know why I felt so duty bound to my company, I am out of here in less than 5 days�grrr!

My song, "Gesu Bambino/O Come All Ye Faithful", in church went reasonably well. I was nervous about it, having only practiced it 3 times. I'm such a wicked perfectionist when it comes to my music. Right in the middle of the song, I realized that I was singing a third lower than the music was written, it sounded fine, because the notes still fit into the chord progression, then I had the realization that, in about 2 measures this was going to turn disastrous fast. I just made up my own rendition to "O Come All Ye Faithful," did any one notice? Probably not, except for the 4 opera singers in the congregation. But, the comments I got back from my fellow churchgoers were funny. "Wow, Eden where did you learn to sing?" "I didn't know that you could sing that high." "Where have you been hiding?" At least my music didn't go flying off the pulpit this time.

Last night I saw Buttercup, my friend with whom I have been at odds with for the last few months. She was the Alto Soloist at the Messiah Sing-a-long I went to. I was sitting on the front row, and I saw here up on the stage. She saw me too, and I was so nervous. But, she just smiled and waved. I waved back. After the last Hallelujah was sung, and the last amen sounded, she came and found me. We both could only say, "I'm sorry." That was all it took, no explanations, no excuses, just two words and it was resolved. Amen to that!

Now, it's Monday, and I sit here at my glamorous desk, doing my glamorous job. This is the last night of school! THANK YOU, THANK YOU! I don't know if I should jump up and down or just sit quietly like a Cheshire Cat grinning with satisfaction on a job done! I'm just glad that I now own my Monday nights again, and for the fact that I don't have to see, Ms. Newspaper, or any of the others again!

As a final note, I would like to once again offer an apology to Mr. Levski for my comments made in the previous entry. I totally slammed him. In fact, he called me, on the phone to express his disappointment in me -- and to chat too. I AM SORRY FOR FLAMING YOU LEV! I will make it up to him when he comes to visit me, Yellowducky and Lifeblood in January.

Ok so that was not the final note, this is, maybe�Night Dragon wanted to know how the snow was here in Phoenix. It doesn't snow in my part of Phoenix -- tragic, I know. But I can see a dusting on our lovely Superstition Mountains from my house and it is picture postcard perfect to see a Saguaro with snow on its arms. Does it count for snow when I have to scrape the ice off my car's front window with a pancake spatula?

That was the last thought for today, I'm sure there will be more tomorrow�

11:41 a.m. - December 17, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: