edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Take out your idiot cards it's raining

"I'm dreaming of a white Christmas, just like the ones I used to know�"

Well I've never been privy to a White Christmas; even the Christmas I spent in Bulgaria wasn't white. It's raining here today and I like the rain. It's very gloomy and broodish, very good for writing angst filled poetry, reflecting on life and sipping chocolate under the warmth of blankets. I should be at home doing these things. However, I do not like the fact that some people take the rain as an invitation to pull out their idiot cards and drive like maniacs, we're not even going to talk about the morning commute. But, I am safely tucked in my cube at work and I don't have to worry about it for a few more hours.

I finally turned my radio on my desk to the Christmas music station. I hesitated, because I am very particular about my Christmas music. I tend to favor the symphonic sound and mellow crooner sound, not the "yowling cat in heat" sound that so many of today's singing or non-singing GAP ad artists exhibit. But, I've been pleasantly surprised. They've stuck with the classics, Nat King Cole, Bing Crosby, the Carpenters and currently playing Jimmy Buffet. Parrotheads are weird, but Jimmy is mellow--so he can stay. Of course, all of this music makes me want to sing. I sing to relive stress.

Lately, I've needed to sing, long and loud. My roommates in college could always tell what kind of a mood I was in or what I was up to by the music I played and sang too. For example, cleaning the bathroom meant "Guys and Dolls;" mopping the floor, James Taylor; and vacuuming meant The Fab Four. Whenever I broke up with a boy or vice-versa I listened to the musical Chess (no one's life is sadder than Florence's in Chess), or when I was in love Rogers and Hammerstein classics were on deck. It just seems that many of my friends are in the depths of tragedy or hardship, the world is going to the dogs and the sky is falling. I feel like Chicken Little and I don't know what to do. I realize that I can't do anything about many of these things, but my heart still weeps. What happened to 'Love one another' and the Golden Rule?

Now the radio is playing "Let it Snow" sung by that beauty in body and voice, Harry Connick Jr. (Eden swoons and the heart palpitations start). Ok if you can be there when it snows Harry, I'll come, we can sing and the world will be good right?

I'll leave you all today with some funny variations on the Christmas favorite "'Twas the Night Before Christmas." The first one is for the student in all of us, but it's mostly for Mandolen, Dr. Becky, Lisa and Anne and anyone else in Diaryland in the throws of finals (ok Rick that's you too). I found the second one particularly funny, seeing as how I should have been finishing up my first semester of law school right about now, and also for the fact that I have this thing about dating lawyers. Besides this is America, and our national past time is filing lawsuits against our fellow men and women.

With this kids I again bid you a fond and fine adieu. May your toes be warm, and your commute be relatively stress free. I'm going to take the moment and sing while my boss is out of the office�tra la la!!

12:26 p.m. - December 04, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: