edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A sunset and some stars

I've noticed something about myself lately here in Diaryland, I've become increasingly shallow. I mean, I talk about the silliest, trivial things. I think it's my way of avoiding the turmoil that I find myself and in the world around me.

For example yesterday was a terrible day. I knew that Monday was going to be bad when I went to bed on Sunday night. I just had a foreboding feeling about it. I woke up and was confronted with many things within the first few hours of being awake. There was the plane crash in New York, some personal issues, and some sad news from 2 different friends. Suddenly my problems didn't seem so important, and they're not in the grand scheme of things.

I found comfort in the sunset however. I've mentioned it here before, but there is nothing more beautiful than an Arizona sunset. Last night was no exception. The sky was mostly dark, but in the west deep pink and purple hues were glowing just above the horizon. There were dark blue clouds cutting across the sky, and in the very center was the yellow ball of the sun. It was just beautiful.

I leave you today with some Frost�


"HOW countlessly they congregate
O'er our tumultuous snow,
Which flows in shapes as tall as trees
When wintry winds do blow!--
As if with keenness for our fate,
Our faltering few steps on
To white rest, and a place of rest
Invisible at dawn,--
And yet with neither love nor hate,
Those stars like some snow-white
Minerva's snow-white marble eyes
Without the gift of sight"
Stars 1913.

11:54 a.m. - November 13, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: