edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A little bit of Politics and whimsy

I have a lot of random thoughts in my head today, consequently this entry is going to be random as well�

1. The Muslim world wants the US to stop bombing for Ramadan. They claim that it is a bad time for fighting. Sorry to break it to you boys, but your rhetoric is flawed. Muslim history is full of instances where wars were fought during Ramadan, not to mention the war where the Prophet Muhammad and his followers battled the Meccans to regain control of that city. I seriously doubt that the Taliban and Osama bin Laden would show the United States the same "cultural courtesy" if the situation were reversed.

2. Innocent people sometimes die! I'm sorry that people are getting killed in Afghanistan. Let's not forget however, the many that have been killed by Taliban oppression and laws before one US bomb was dropped. The Taliban, so desperate for support is scrambling, so much so, that they place innocent people next to military targets to serve their wicked designs. Civilians were given fair warning to get out.

3. The United States is not to blame for September 11th or the Anthrax epidemic. A free society is not to blame for the woes and the mistakes of oppressive regimes. The reason that most of the Arab world, and the Central Asian states are considered 3rd world is due to their own repressive governments. Government cannot control every facet and part of the lives of its citizens. Imagine what could happen if the government of Afghanistan allocated all the money it spent on "policing" its people and spent it on education, communication lines, infrastructure or capital investment? I think we would see amazing things.

4. If the Afghanis want the bombing to stop they need to get rid of the Taliban and give up Osama bin Laden. You want proof that he's guilty? Watch the videos that bin Laden releases to Al Jazzera. He has admitted that he and his organization were involved in the terrorism of September 11th, and you can bet that he's behind all of the Anthrax too. If you get rid of, and give up the bad guys, I can promise that you will see the United States help you, sustain you and rebuild you.

5. They interviewed Iraqi schoolgirls on NPR this morning. In very plain and almost correct English on of the girls asked. "Why do you do this about my country? We love American culture and things, but we don't understand, we speak English, why do you hate us?" We don't hate you dear, your beloved Saddam hates us, and has decided to punish you for it. The food for oil program is a joke. You can bet that all the proceeds of this program go right into the hands of Saddam and his cronies, not to you where they belong. If I could take you away from all of that, I would.

I remember some friends I made while living in Bulgaria. They were refugees form Iraq. Imagine that, they had to go to Bulgaria, hell itself, to find a better life. This family would often tell us of their experiences during the Gulf War. They said that the American Bombing was bad, but Saddam's regime was worse. You could be arrested for not having a picture of Hussein prominently displayed in your home, or for speaking ill of the government. There was no trial by jury, no due process, no rule of law. Just the arbitrary will of the dictatorship. And how is this way of life better than freedom?

Ok--Political Vent over, I'm frustrated by the whole situation, with both sides. I support my government, I love my country. Other randomness�

6. I'm a dork. I was talking with a new acquaintance last night. He was saying something in Russian to Moe, of course she was baffled, but I answered him back in Russian. He was surprised. So, we started talking about Mother Russia and all things Russian. I love Russia, and the history, and the culture and everything. New Friend mentioned that he'd met and spoken with the son of Nikita Kruschev. Of course, I've been fascinated with Kruschev since the age of 11 when I first started to really understand the cold war and politics. Last year in our home town paper they had a series of articles and interviews on the son of Kruschev, and that only served to heighten my fascination with this whole subject. So when New Friend announced this to me, I got all excited, my mouth dropped and my eyes bulged, like I'd just been called on the Price is Right or something. I don't think it was the reaction he was expecting. All he said was, "Whoa, ok." So, he promised that he'd tell me about it sometime. Ok, must keep my geek-ness in check. I'm such a dork.

7. I feel fat today and I'm giving in to my cravings for candy, cheese, and ice-cream way to easily these days. No wonder I feel fat. Maybe it's hormonal, heaven knows them's out of control!

8. I'm calling Thursday tonight and we are going to do something. What? I don't know what yet. But before I do that I'm going to buy some new jeans. I told myself a while back I wasn't going to buy anymore pants until I could fit into the next size down. Well, I don�t see that happening anytime soon (see above paragraph) and every pair of jeans I own is starting to fray and fade. So, damn the ultimatum I gave myself, I'm going to visit Eddie Bauer after work! And I think I'll vist cousin 'Payless Shoes' while I'm at it. Ryss always says I'm happier after I spend money. I think she's right.

9. I'm in a HUGE fight sort of thing with a good friend. I've had to step back from the friendship in the last few months for personal reasons. I just can't tell her what they are, because they are very sensitive issues. She is mad at me, and told me to call her when I quit being so selfish. I don't know what to do�I don't want to loose her as a friend, but she is so possessive with my time. I just can't handle it right now, and that makes me feel bad.

10. I got another Google search today. The key words were "The Others" "Nicole Kidman" and "Chopin." I thought what a weird combination. Then I remembered I'd seen that movie and wrote about it here. How very exciting! I'm practically famous! I'll be signing autographs after my close up Mr. DeMille.

And with that, ya'll have a good one. ~~Eden

1:26 a.m. - November 02, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: