edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The travails of the Crazy Milkmaid

Last night I was at the grocery store with my sister. She was buying milk. There was a very interesting lady in the milk isle with us. She was an older lady about 50ish, dressed in some green sweat pants, and a pink shirt. She had dark rimmed glasses and a covering on her head that looked like the sleeve of a t-shirt.

This lady had her head in the refrigerator and was muttering. When she stepped out the muttering turned to shouting about the price of milk. It's expensive, we know, but what can we do? She started shouting that in Wisconsin, where she's from milk is cheep. Sure it is honey, you can go out and milk the cow yourself! She kept muttering this as she walked down the aisle to the check out. My sister and I just stood there and looked confused, then we burst out laughing. I seriously thought she was crazy.

In Bulgaria, where I used to live, crazy people roam the streets. And by crazy I mean, people with serious mental defects, that probably should be in the hospital, on meds, walk around like it's no big deal. I guess its because the hospitals in Bulgaria aren't like our hospitals. You have to bring all of your own stuff (good point here, no skimpy hospital gowns), including food, clothing, sheets and blankets. Because of this, patients of the hospital usually roam around the neighborhood and hang out in the cafes, IV poles and all. The doctors have no idea where they are half the time. Maybe that's why there is an abundance of mental patients on the streets in Bulgaria.

So, as my sister and I got up to the check out at the store, the Crazy Milkmaid was there, still going on about the high price of milk here. I just wanted to tell her, go back to Wisconsin already, and while your back there have fun shoveling snow till April.

2:15 p.m. - October 30, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: