edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm back, but I didn't want to leave

I�m back, in one piece, I think??!! I am in LOVE with Boston and New England, I've decided that somehow, someway, I'm going to live there. Not forever, but for a season.

DAY 1: The Journey Begins

Last week, I arrived at the airport 2 hours ahead of my scheduled departure time, as requested by the airline. The line however, was not as long, nor was it as hectic as I thought it would be. I did have to take off my shoes and put them thru the x-ray machine however. I have a thing about germs, and walking on dirty airport carpet was quite the trauma. I had a pair of earrings in my carry-on bag. I guess this was too much for the security, so I was pulled aside and searched. Nice, having all of your personal effects sprawled out on a table for the world to see. I felt thoroughly violated.

The flight to Detroit was uneventful. I sat next to a very nice older gentleman and his wife. They were quite talkative, but for some reason, I didn't mind. The same was true for my flight into Providence, RI. My luggage made it all the way across the country, which was more of a concern to me than any threat of terrorism.

By the this time, it had grown dark outside, so I couldn't see the leaves or the beautiful landscape of New England on the drive up to Boston, I would have to wait for the morning.

DAY 2: Quincy & The John Adams Historical Park.

As expected, the New England landscape was breathtaking when I woke up. I stayed with some relatives, who live in Waltham, MA on the banks of the Charles River. The leaves were just starting to turn, and some had already peaked. I felt like I was in a Robert Frost poem.

We drove down to Quincy (pronounced Quin-zey) to see the John Adams birthplace and estate. John Adams, the second President of the United States, and his wife Abigail Smith Adams have always been heroes of mine, so naturally I was excited to tour their houses and see where and how they lived.

The tour started at the John Adams birth house. It was a small simple saltbox house with about 6 rooms. Next door to this house was another house of similar design and shape. John and Abigail lived in the second house, during the War and the early days of the Republic. There was also a third house, called the "Old House." The Adams' lived here after they served as President and First Lady, and as Minister to Great Britain and Holland.

This house was full of history, and I was in awe of just being there, and being in the same rooms as John and Abigail. The rooms of this house were filled with the furniture the Adams' used, their dishes and their books. The house was set up just as Brooks Adams, John Adams' great-grandson left it in 1927. Adjoining the house was a fireproof library built by Charles Adams, the son of John Quincy Adams, 6th President of the United States. This small building was full of books (2 stories, floor to ceiling in 2 and 3 thick in some places). As I walked in, the smell of old leather was thick in the room. It was a beautiful smell and one that I want to have in my house one day. This building was also full of history. In the corner was John Adams' desk, at which he wrote the Massachusetts state constitution. In the opposite corner was John Quincy's desk from the House of Representatives in Washington. It was all truly amazing.

After lunch, we headed down to Plymouth Plantation. This is a true to life replica of the first Pilgrim settlement in America. I would have made a terrible Pilgrim! I don't think I would have made a happy camper (literally). The houses were all made of wood, had dirt floors and thatched roofs. I do admire the Pilgrims though. They came to this land with nothing and they built a civilization from the ground up.

Tomorrow, The Freedom Trail, and Concord�

1:23 p.m. - October 16, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: