edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You'll miss me when I'm gone.

This week, I'm in Boston, MA on my annual "Great American Cities Tour." Here are some things for your Eden's Garden reading enjoyment while I'm gone�

FUN FACTS ABOUT BOSTON*

    Population 1996: 574,283

    Area: 48.6 miles; 58% is landfill

    Nicknames: The Hub, Beantown, Athens of America

    There are 67 colleges and universities in the greater Boston area. My favorite is Boston College.

    The Massachusetts Bay Colony was established in 1629 by the Pilgrims.

    On December 16 1773 the Boston Tea Party took place.

    In 1897 the first Boston Marathon was run.

    In 1918 the Boston Red Sox, won their first and only World Series! (Hey we're still hoping!)

    Boston Garden, former home of the Boston Celtics, opened in 1928

    Work on the "Big Dig" began in 1989.

Here are some cool Boston websites:


All about Boston
More about Boston
The Boston Globe

And so you don't miss my delightful delusions too much, read the archives or here are some of my favorite entries, in no particular order:

Bez takova Molya or I'll have some of that please

Friday Fun

This day Sucked and a Random act of Stupidity

Tao of Allegra D

I'm a Narcoleptic Dork

Win a Date to the Prom

Mr. Oily does it again

Music

My Most Embarrassing Moment

Mothballs & Tea

And there it is, I'm off like a herd of thundering turtles!! I'll be back in a few days with lots of stories to tell. ~~Eden

*All of my facts came from Fodor's Boston Citypack Guide by Sue Gordon.

3:20 p.m. - October 08, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: