edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A bit of History

Day 3: The Freedom Trail and Greater Boston

I started the day on the commuter rail into Boston, I transferred to the "T" and finished my ride into the Hub of the Universe, Boston. I watched out the windows as small town America passed me by, again the scenery was breathtaking.

Once in Boston, I met up with a tour at Faneuil Hall. We walked the "Heart of the Freedom Trail" stopping outside of such places as the "The Old State House" and "The South Meeting House." One thing that the guide pointed out was that in Boston there are buildings from 4 centuries being used. I found this to be true. Next to the small 2 story Old State House was a 10 story "high rise" from the 1800s and next to that was a real "high rise" from the 1970s.

When the tour was over I retraced my steps and entered in some of the famous buildings. I was in awe as I sat in the South Meeting house, knowing that from that pulpit Samuel Adams gave the code words that signaled the Boston Tea Party. I felt the same way when I was in the The North Church later on in the day. Although the present steeple on that church is not the one in which the 2 signal lanterns that signaled Paul Rever's ride hung, it was still impressive to be in yet another building in which famous patriots stood, walked and worshiped.

By the end of the day, I'd walked from the South End to the North End. My feet were numb, my legs were wobbly but I felt like I'd taken part in a small bit of history. I rewarded myself, by stopping at "Mike's Pastry." B told me that this is the best bakery in Boston, he was right! Bless the Italians and their culinary wizardry!

Day 4: Concord and Lexington

This day, I headed away from the beautiful city and went to Concord. This little town, about 10 miles west of Boston is home to the American Transcendentalist literary movement. I had the chance to visit the houses of Louisa May Alcot, author of "Little Women," one of my favorite books, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Ralph Waldo Emerson, and Henry David Thoreau. They were all neighbors and friends. In fact, Emerson, bought up huge amounts of land here and let it to who ever was willing to work it, for free.

Concord and Lexington are also home to the American Revolution. On April 19, 1775, the "Shot heard 'round the world" was fired at Lexington Green. I learned that the British, were on their way to Concord, to destroy weapons stored by the Colonists. This was the reason Paul Revere rode thru the night waking the townsfolk. He was caught outside of Concord, but his warning alerted the people of the area. Because of this, the British were badly beaten. I just can't describe with words my feelings about these events. I was just so humbled to be there and to know that, everyday ordinary people fought for their rights, which now are my rights.

As the sun set I looked out over Walden Pond, and wondered if this is what Thoreau saw. It was beautiful. I sat and breathed in the cool, crisp, New England air and listened to the geese honk. What a beautiful day.

8:57 a.m. - October 17, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: