edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My 15 minutes of fame

Well, the day is almost at a close, and it has been somewhat redeemed.

I WAS ON THE RADIO! Yes, I called in to find out the name of a song that has mesmerized me for the last few weeks ('It's been a while', by Staind), and the DJ started asking me questions about another song (that new one about Superman and heroes that have problems to--if anyone knows what the name of that one is tell me). So, about 5 minutes later, the song in question came on (the Superman song), and guess who was the lead in? YES, ME!!!!

Ok, so I'm a dork for getting all excited about this--it was like I was having my 15 minutes of fame. Here's something else to boost my star quality too. I was on "The Wallace and Ladmo" show when I was 11 years old. If you didn't grow up in Phoenix, let me explain who and what is Wallace and Ladmo.

The Wallace and Ladmo Show, was an afternoon and morning kids, cartoon show. Wallace was a round jolly fellow who always wore a brown derby hat, and Ladmo was his tall and somewhat clumsy sidekick. This show was on the air for 35 years, and everyone loved it. Between the Bugs Bunny and Tom & Jerry cartoons, they would do skits, tell jokes and just have a good time. Throughout the show they would also give away "LADMO BAGS".

Ladmo Bags were paper bags filled to the top with all sorts of high-fructose corn syrup based products. It was every kid's sugar fantasy and every mother's sugar nightmare. Every day they would have a post card drawing and also pick random members of the audience to receive these wonderful bags full of sugary delights. One day my name was drawn from the post card bin. The next week, Momatron schlepped all of the kids down to the TV station to be on the show. I was the envy of the sixth grade for at least a week! Ahh the memories.

But, today, although not as thrilling, was cool, I was on the radio~~I'll be signing autographs after the show!

4:20 p.m. - September 21, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: