edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A National Day of Prayer and Remembrance

I'm back, I think. Going to the prayer service at my church was a comfort. I walked in and there were people spilling out into the halls. We were all there for the same reason, to comfort, to understand, to heal.

The service started with the tolling of a bell. It was solemn, it was appropriate. My ecclesiastical leaders prayed for the peace of understanding, for the guiding hand of God to help us understand these "acts of infamy." Our's is a nation betrayed, but not broken. The Choir sang many beautiful hymns. I've heard the words of these songs my whole life. Somehow today, they had deeper meaning, and I was and am so very thankful that I have the gift of song to remembrance comfort me.

The 23rd Psalm was read. "�He restoreth my soul; thou art with me." More scriptures were read from the Book of Job, and the Gospel of John. I thought of the Sermon on the Mount, "Blessed are they that mourn, for they shall be comforted." A moment of silence was observed. The silence was unifying. I looked at the congregation around me, many had their heads bowed, many wept, and I'm sure many prayed in their hearts.

We sang, "America the Beautiful." I have always loved this song, but today more than ever. As we sang, I noticed the 3rd verse: Oh beautiful for heroes proved, in liberating strife. Who more than self their country loved, and mercy more than life. America, America, may God thy gold refine, till all success be nobleness, and every gain divine. I think that the heroes without a doubt are the many Firemen and Policemen that died on Tuesday. And I think that I can safely say that this tragedy can be compared to the refiner's fire, and we, the American people are the gold in that fire. Fire and strife, hardship and trial refine us. We will be better, we already are. Winston Churchill said of America once, "America is like a boiler. Once the fire is lit under her, there is no limit to the energy and the action that she will generate." I believe this to be true, today. The fourth verse of this song also had deep meaning for me today. "Thine alabaster cities gleam, undimmed by human fears�" Have you ever seen alabaster? In the sunlight it is blindingly bright. It is beautiful, it is pure and white. I really believe in my heart of hearts that the fear that grips all of us to one degree or another will not last forever.

I guess my point with all of this rumination, is that, I don't think we should be hopeless. I was sad this morning, but being in the midst of others who were grieving was therapeutic. I don't want to come across as some cock-eyed optimist about this situation. It is a serious situation, it deserves deference, and every bit of solemnity we can give it. I still don't understand why this happened, maybe I never will, but at least I can feel some peace. It is still important to pray, pray for the peace of understanding, and healing. I know I will be.

========================================

How are you feeling about all of this? Sign my guestbook and tell me.

3:58 p.m. - September 14, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: