edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sad Papers

Photo: ©, Jeff Christensen/Reuters

I thought I was done writing about all of this madness, but last night I think I was the most emotional that I've been, so far, over this whole situation. I think it's because the names and faces of people have started to come forth. Yesterday on the television, a news reporter was in Times Square interviewing people on the street. Every one there knew someone in the WTC.

Apparently, family and friends of the victims have been posting photos with descriptions of their loved ones on posters on walls, doorways, and mail boxes around town. They are desperate, I can't even begin to understand the helplessness that they are feeling. This is what Bulgarians do when they have lost a loved one. They post what is called a Tuzhen Pomen on their front door, and in the neighborhood around their houses. Today in NYC there are tuzhni pomeni in the neighborhoods. These "sad papers" seek out those who are lost, they memorialize those who are gone, they are a last beacon of hope for so many.

So many are affected by this tragedy. There are stories in every city, and every town in the United States. Someone that I know, lost her husband on Tuesday, I just found out about this last night. The family still has hope that he is alive. I don't think he is. He was on the 91st floor of Tower 1, impact point one. The commentator on the radio this morning visited the rubble yesterday. She said that the air was filled with a sour stench. This no doubt is the stench of death. All I can ask today is, "WHY???" I know that this is not an act of God. This is an act of WICKED people. But, WHY?

I am going to church today. I need to be in church, singing hymns, saying prayers, listening to the still small voice of God's spirit. Maybe, I will find my answers there. I know we must find life's small joys, and I will. But that still doesn't stop my heart from being heavy laden today.

I'm sure I'll have more to say later, maybe not. "God help me to understand please?"

9:30 a.m. - September 14, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: