edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My civic duty

Did you see my banner? If so, sign my guestbook. It will make me happy :).

========================================

Yesterday I fulfilled my civic duty and went to jury duty. It wasn't as bad as I thought. In fact, I like Federal Jury Duty was better than Jury Duty for state court. They serve refreshments in Federal Court. Very impressive.

So the day started out with me trying to negotiate the freeway. I don't commute, so I am unaccustomed to the sheer insanity found on the Phoenix freeways. Let's just say that all of my feelings of animosity toward people who drive overly-huge-gas-guzzling trucks and SUVs was furthered along by the behavior and driving of these people. It's just the freeway folks, we all have to wait at the meter lamp at the end of the entrance ramp, so what's the big hurry? And what's the deal with city busses running red lights? I was almost creamed twice! Beep-bop I was downtown. Of course I can never remember which streets go which way and so forth. So, I spent a considerable amount of time driving around the block and up and down the street, I was 45 minutes late! HOORAY FOR THE DIRECTIONALLY CHALLENGED!

We have a new Federal Courthouse in Phoenix. It's named after Sandra Day O'Conner the first woman appointed to the US Supreme Court. It's a beautiful building, big and bright, with green reflective glass, white steel supports and granite floors. The only problem is that it felt like a green-house. The Great Hall is not air conditioned--this is a must in this lovely land I live in!

So, we waited all morning, and then were let go for lunch. Upon our return we were taken up to a courtroom. The case before the court involved a man named Angel. He was being deported. I don't believe in deporting people. If they want to come to this country, we should let them, they are here for a better life, even if what they find here is the worst we have to give them. I got called up into the jury box though. This was the farthest I've ever made it at Jury Duty. I was nervous and excited at the same time.

The judge was a very stern looking lady, but and interesting lady. She spoke to us about justice and duty. She mentioned that we came from all walks of life, and that after this was over we would disappear back into our lives. But, for a brief moment we had the chance to put aside our preconceived notions and match the law with the facts. I thought it was very inspiring. She thanked us for coming and taking the time. Something else she said also made me think as she was talking to us. She said, "Think of the kind of person you are, and ask your selves, 'would I like to be judged by someone like me on a jury'?" Very interesting, it made me think, everyone deserves a fair shot at justice, regardless of what they are charged with.

Eventually I was dismissed, but I wasn't surprised. I went to Jessica the masseuse's house for a stress relieving massage. Man was I tense--all of that crazy driving I guess! I was so relaxed afterwards though. Of course my head and shoulders kill today because they were rubbed so hard, but honestly I slept so well last night! Ahhh�a good night's sleep! I think if I could, I would zonk out here at work right this very minute!

This is life for today�Eden

10:19 a.m. - September 05, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: