edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bez takova molya

So last night's spending spree was not as enthralling as I'd hoped it would be, but it was funny trying to watch the Target employee fit the desk I bought into my 2 door sports car. I think I'll go back tonight and try a filing cabinet! They don't have those little magnetic paper clip holder thingys at Target though, I was sad I really wanted one of those. But on to other things.....

There are some things that I really miss about Bulgaria. The language is one thing. There are certian words in Bulgarian that I wish we had in English. For example, the word 'bez'. It means 'without' as in "I'd like a sandwich *bez* mayo." See how simple that is? Another word I miss is 'takova'. It means 'one of those' or 'that'. Whenever I was shopping in the market or needed to ask about something, but didn't know what it was called I always said. "I'll have *takova*." Or, "Do you know about *takova*?" Bulgarians always knew what I was trying to say, amazing!

I also miss tramvai. We know these as light rail trains here in the USA. When I lived in Sofia, I lived at the end of the #7 Tramvai line. The actual tram cars had all seen better days, as in they were new in 1959! The track out by my house has also seen better days. It was so warped and uneven that it made riding the tram an adventure. By the time the tram got to our stop--the end, there were very few people left on the tram, if any. Many times, me and the friends I was with, would hang from the overhead hand rails and swing. It was the first grade monkey-bars all over again. Oh how FUN!

I also have to mention that there is a certian feeling you get from buying your food in the open air market. It was always an adventure to see what the country folk had brought in for the day. The merchants all would set up shop in rusty metal booths. Some had just a few home grown fruits or vegetables to sell, while others would try and make their wage by selling toilet paper, bubble gum, cheap clothes and my favorite, underwear on a ring. Yes, underwear in all sizes and colors would be streched on giant metal rings for display. "Um, yes, I'd like the neon green pair and that lepoard print thong for my sister." My favorite though would have to be the old lady selling bras from a box. Funnier though were the ladies in the market trying on these bras out in the open, over their clothes. " 'Scuse me, do you have this in a 38-C?" How did they know if they got a good fit? I mean I know I hate the way underwire cuts into my skin.

This is all I have time for today...more memories and thoughts tomorrow, but until then, I'll be here at my desk *bez* a clue waiting for my *takova* to start!

9:48 a.m. - 2001-08-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: