edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Follow the Directions

I want to echo my agreement with Lifeblood. School is sometimes a drag, but it's part of life so we must press on right?

The last few nights I've been compiling my portfolio for school. It's been an eyeopening experience to say the least. I never realized how much preperation it takes to be a teacher, at least a good one. I as I was writing out my lessons, I was compelled to write and to re-write, so that these plans would be complete.

The biggest wake-up came as I was writing "The Directions" out for some of the handouts I'd made. The old phrase "follow the directions" kept echoing in my mind. I looked at what I'd written, and I was confused. I knew what I wanted my hypothetical students to do, and learn, but this was lost in the delivery. I realized the value of good communication.

Finally at 5 am I stopped and went to sleep. The next day, I gave my creations to Mom, an experienced teacher, to look over. She was pleased, and said I'd done good.

I'm happy, and scared and this is just the beginning, but I'm beginning to really think that this is what I am ment to do! By the way...I'm feeling much better too! Thanks for all the LUV....

4:31 p.m. - 2001-07-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: