edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is real

Yesterday I drove out to school to pick up my contract. I was racing against the clock and traffic. I had to get there before 4:30, and I was actually driving with the traffic instead of against it, which is usually the case.

I ran into the office with 2 minutes to spare. The lady handed me my contract.

There it was, 2 legal sized pieces of paper full of words that if I signed, would bind me to the school and this town for the next 10 months.

The lady asked if I wanted to sign it right there. NO, I wanted to read through it and talk it over with Mr. Levski. This was big, bigger than anything I�d ever done, bigger than me.

I walked out to my car and called him. This was the only thing that I wanted to do, was to talk to him.

So there I sat in my car, reading the contract to my friend over the phone. I never thought that I would be at this point in my life.

I am an employed professional. All of the work that I have done over the last several years is paying off. I read the clause that talked about my compensation. $ X-amount of money. This is more than I have ever been paid in my life!

Another point that I never thought I�d come to was having the decisions I make be important to someone else�s life. Mr. Levski was truly happy for me.

As I left the parking lot I hung up the phone. I decided not to go home quite yet. I drove over to the new campus to look at it.

The work on the building has progressed nicely in the last 6 weeks. I am so thankful that I�ll be here, in a new building in less than 3 weeks.

I pulled out of the parking lot and turned east. I just wanted to think. I drove through miles and miles of yellow corn rows and green cotton fields. Off in the distance in front of me the Superstition Mountains rose up. On my right the San Tan Mountains broke the horizon. Both were purple and had storm clouds settling in over them.

It was beautiful. Mountains and crops stretching out in front of me. Life stretching out in front of me.

Late last night, I sat at my desk on the phone again with Mr. Levski. I signed my contract as he was talking to me. I�m glad he was there in voice, at least.

I felt a strange rush of relief and excitement wash over me as my pen made the last strokes of my name. It�s real, but really real.

I am a teacher.

9:55 a.m. - July 11, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: