edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Follow your bliss

I have a birthday this week. It�s got me thinking. I have a cousin named Ems, she is 18 and just out of high school. In a few weeks Ems will be moving away to college.

One of the nights in Idaho, Ems and I stayed up really late talking. It was an experience that I will always treasure.

In our conversation we really opened up to each other, I�d always looked at her as the kid I used to babysit, she always thought I was the weird crazy spinster-relative. She asked me all about college life. I ended up telling her roommate horror stories, college escapades and reliving some of the best times of my life.

I look at Ems and I am so excited for her. She is where I was about 10 years ago. I wonder what I would have thought if I�d had an older relative to ask about life with when I was her age.

This is what I wish I�d known when I was Ems� age�

Here you are 18 and life lies ahead of you.

The things you think you want to have happen to you and the things you think will bring you happiness, don�t always happen and don�t always come.

Learn to roll with the changes that life puts in front of you. You will be a better person because of it. Learn to be happy in what ever situation you find yourself in. People will like you more, but more importantly, you will like yourself more.

Love knowledge, don�t be afraid to stretch out and learn all you can from everyone you meet.

Go on big adventures! Even if that means leaving the ones you love for a time. The people you meet along the way will be as your family!

Love people, give freely of yourself. Never be afraid to listen. And don�t worry about crying when they don�t love you back. You�ll get hurt, but the pain you feel will make you stronger and give you the desire drink life in even more.

Turn to your parents. They are not as weird as you think they are. They are there to love you and help you.

Stop and taste your food, look at the sun rise and the set, smell the flowers, hold on to small children, hold hands, give hugs, make cookies, give them away secretly, talk to old people, sing loudly, laugh hysterically, love unconditionally.

Life is ahead of you Ems, go out and follow your bliss!

8:49 p.m. - June 30, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: