edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Get your own toothbrush, thank you very much!

�Please come to Boston. She said, "Won�t you please come home to me?" And she said. �Ramblin� boy won�t you please settle down? Boston ain�t your kind of town.�

Boston on the brain. Scheming on how to get there and stay on a permanent basis. Ya, the fact that the New England Patriots won the Super Bowl has put Boston back on the front burner. I am however, going to Canada over Spring Break to see my long lost exchange student sister, so that should satisfy my wanderlust cravings for the present.

Denise is a student in Quebec. Since we are both on the North American continent, I cannot pass up this opportunity to go and see her. She is a wonderful girl. I stayed with her family during the summer of 1991, and she in turn, came and stayed with my family on an exchange. We haven�t seen each other for 10 years. This is far too long�OH CANADA, MY HOME AND NATIVE LAND.

I�ve decided that student teaching is like using another person�s toothbrush. Yes, it�s not the most pleasant of analogies, but it�s true. I teach in Mr. Mac�s room, using all of his stuff. Don�t get me wrong, I love it, but at the same time I wish it was my own room, and I could put the desks the way I want, and not have to constantly hear the refrain, �But Mr. Mac does it this way.� Ok, but I�m not Mr. Mac.

Today�s quote in class was by Ralph Waldo Emerson, the famous American, author, and transcendentalist philosopher. I appreciate the works of Mr. Emerson, and after my visit to his house in Concord, Mass, a few months back, I have an even greater respect and deeper appreciation of him and his contributions to American Literature. With that said, Jughead in 4th hour loudly proclaimed, �Dude, who is Ralph Waldo Emerson?� Oh the horror, oh the inhumanity! What are they *not* teaching these kids in English? Then Jughead admits to the fact that he never pays attention in English, so why should he know? Well, I gave Jughead an assignment. He is supposed to find out who Ralph Waldo Emerson is and tell us tomorrow. The likelihood of this actually happening is, yes, you guessed it, slim to nill. I think a snowball would stay frozen in hell before Jughead actually took the initiative to think outside of the teenaged box. Oh��

This is all for now, my tummy hurts, I ate toooooo many French fries. I�m having a really bad food week�blech. I think I need body of steel, Slim Fast, Richard Simmons, Dr. Phil, and a good dose of Maalox at this point.

�The lover watched his graceful maid, as �mid the virgin train she strayed, nor knew her beauty�s best attire was woven still by the snow-white choir. ~~Ralph Waldo Emerson, from the poem �Each and All�

7:51 p.m. - February 05, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: