edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Random thoughts about things relating to Christmas

Today's Quote: "Let those who say we must understand the reasons for terrorism come with me to the thousands of funerals we're having in New York City--thousands--and explain those insane, maniacal reasons to the children who will grow up with out fathers and mothers and to the parents who have had their children ripped from them for no reason at all� This is not for 'further study' or vague directives." New York mayor Rudy Giuliani speaking to the UN General Assembly October 1, 2001.

========================================

Today's weather in the greater Phoenix area, NOT SO DARN HOT! Today for the first time in months the high temp is going to be BELOW 100. How refreshing, how blissfully wonderful. I'm tired of the heat, I miss the coolness of a real autumn, and I know that eventually I will miss the snow. "I'm dreaming of a White Christmas, just like the ones I used to know�"

I'm down to the one-week countdown for my trip to Boston. I just can't say how excited I am and in anticipation of this, I am wearing socks and regular shoes for the first time since April (I have to get the tootsies ready for the cold)! I am trying to pack as much into the one week I have there, as I possibly can. I feel like I've turned into some sort of travel agent from hell. It's the ghost of my Grandfather. He never took vacations, he took trips, and you always needed a vacation when you got back from a trip with him. I'm ready, I'm going on a cross-country flight and I am EXCITED! This is better than Christmas for me. I'm taking a TRIP!!

This weekend was busy. On Saturday I had lunch with Moe and Juju. We have all been friends since our freshman year of college. We stopped off a Haji-Baba's Middle Eastern Restaurant to eat. As usual it was culinary ecstasy. Juju and I split lamb and chicken kabobs. Moe is somewhat less adventurous when it comes to food. We had a good laugh, watching her try hummus for the first time. "It's good we promise Moe." "Hmm, I don't know, I think I like it, now tell me what it's made out of." Chick-peas�D*lish! It was good to be together again. It's nice to be able to share our lives and see the paths that we've taken over the last 10 years.

Juju told me later, she's considering leaving her husband. J is and has been emotionally abusive, and is getting worse. Juju told me she's been sleeping at the neighbor's house on a regular basis, and that they are starting counseling soon. J is very opposed to going, he blames her for all of their problems. I could only stand and cry with her. She doesn't deserve to be treated badly. She's as near to perfection as a person can get. Why do we treat with contempt and spite, the people we love the most? All I can do is pray that it works out. I told her though, if she does leave, she can come and live with me. I hope for J's sake he realizes the treasure he has in Juju and does all he can and should to keep her. He'll be sad when she's gone.

My house, the Casa de la Parents, has been ripped from nose to navel in a word. Yes, we are camping out, due to the lack of kitchen. Friday night, the parentals and I cleaned out the remaining cupboards. We are pack-rats. It's bad, I had to get mad repeatedly at Dad-a-rama for wanting to save cancelled checks and bank statements from 1987, cute little decorator tins that once held cookies from Christmases past, old flower vases and some plastic ice-cubes. There were also other treats I discovered. We have 15 containers of cake sprinkles, as well as 10 boxes of Lipton iced tea (why, I don't know, we don't drink that kind of tea in the Garden), a box of Cream of Wheat from 1982, a coupon for a box of Bounce that expired in 1999 and on and on. Momatron has given me exclusive right to throw away anything that I want. So I am, it's all going away. One good thing about this whole remodel is that Mom will finally have an automatic dishwasher. Yes, gasp and oh the horror, I spent my formidable years washing dishes every night. It wasn't that bad really, except after the Brothers went camping. The good that has come from this is that my brother and I have called a truce to our sometime on, sometimes off "war of the roses," in fact, he brought over a loaf of homemade bread yesterday. Thanks!

I am down to the remaining 12 weeks of my classes. I am really hoping that I will find the fortitude to press on with all possible dispatch. I know, I will, it's just that I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, I'm tired of this marathon, and I still have miles to go before I sleep. Must keep going� I'm also wondering where I am going to be student teaching. My advisor hasn't bothered to tell me, and I hesitate to call. She is the queen of rude. I pay way too much in tuition to be treated like a fool. Well, I'll just have to be a brave little piglet and call her.

It's almost lunchtime, I am hungry. I'm going to eat pancakes at the IHOP, since I have no kitchen in which to make them myself. I've also mentioned Christmas 3 times in this entry, is this a subliminal message?

11:53 a.m. - October 01, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: