edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We interrupt this program....

At work, thinking about comfort food. Why? I don't know. Maybe because I had comfort food for dinner last night. Everyone came to Mom's and we had a very nice hunk of roast beast, baked potatoes, gravy, peas, salad and some cookies that Mom claimed were made by a person named "Aunt Fry's Food and Drug Store." It was the last hurrah of summer.

School stared today, maybe that's why I didn't sleep well? Again, who knows why, I am no longer a mindless face in the public school system. Maybe I was nervous for Mom, she teaches, and I want everything to go well for her today. Maybe I was nervous for Marian, it's her first day today. Maybe I was nervous for myself, because when school starts again, I will be there as the responsible adult. I will be in charge of filling little minds with things.

But back to comfort food. I like the candy DOTS. There is danger in a box of DOTS however, they are extremly chewy and might pull out dental work. This, thankfully did not happen as I was enjoying a box of DOTS this morning, but it is a possibility in the future. I need to be careful. I already have logged too many frequent flyer miles at the dentist in my life.

Let's talk comfort places...I like Wide World of Maps. They have every type of map imagainable there. I have always been a fan of cartography. Why? Again, I have no idea why the map store is such a fun place for me. I went there on Friday. My mission was to find an 8x10 map of the US. Task proved to be more dificult than first anticipated. All of the smaller maps have the interstate freeway grid imbolded on them. I didn't need the interstate freeway system, I just needed a map of the States, those come in wall sizes and larger. So having hit this snag, I began to wander the store. I got lost in the Central Asia section. I love places like Armenia and the Republic of Georgia. Perhaps, it's because some of my best friends are from those places. I walked out with a map of Japan, a St. Andrew's Cross decal for the Ponti and a tour book about Boston.

Yes, I am going to Boston. I bought my tickets on Friday as well. I'm very excited to go! I'm going to hit all of New England, actually, the first week of October. Just in time to see the leaves change and see what a real autumn is like. (We don't have seasons in Phoenix, it's just hot, or not so hot) Maybe Boston will become my comfort town and baked beans my new comfort food....I don't care! All I know it that it's going to be WICKED fun! And something to look forward to!

Now, back to life, back to reality and the regularly scheduled monotony...

2:22 p.m. - 2001-08-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: