edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What I learned at Wal*Mart

I had the most interesting day...started out the same. Up at 6am, the routine, out the door and so on...driving in the traffic, frazzled nerves before 8am!

I trained a new girl at work, she was fine so I took off to do some errands. I went to the hardware store. I always feel strange in hardware stores. It's such a man's world there, filled with hammers, nails, and the like.

I also went to Wal*Mart, yes the great Satan. I hate WAl*Mart. The people that shop there are scary, the people that work there are scary and the isles are too narrow. I mean if you turn down the dish-soap isle and see someone in it, you'd better just turn and go the other way, because there's no way the both of you will fit in the isle. But, Wal*Mart does have one redeeming quality, and that is that you can buy things like, John Deer coffee mugs for 88 cents! WOW!! What bargans!

So I get back to the office and I think I'm being the model employee, organizing cupboards and such, when all of the sudden there was a rather large explosion in the front. It was the flouresent light bulbs I'd purchased at the hardware store. They'd fallen over and exploded, glass and flouresent gas were every where. It was a code red. All I could do was look at it and think, I caused that, because I didn't put those bulbs away. Because of my carelessness, someone might have been hurt. I must think of these things.

Which made me think of my earlier thoughts of the people at the Wal*Mart. I'd been wrong to think that the people there were scary. What if we had the power to hear each other's thoughts? Would my careless thoughts have injured someone? And who am I to judge? They might look at me and think, "she is a snob." I have been called that and much worse before. I must be more careful before I think.

I'm off to the evening, the library and study. Who will I see and what will happen? I don't know, but I'll more careful with the people there. I learned my lesson today; put my possesions in order, put my thoughts in order, and I will have made the world a little bit better.

5:07 p.m. - 2001-07-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: