edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We've got to get organized!!

Hello, Diaryland.

I am tired. I think that is going to be an oft repeated refrain here in the next few weeks as I adjust to my new job and the responsibilities it brings.

I�ve been preparing lessons all evening. I think I am going to go crazy. And I�ll tell you why.

Right now...

I�m trying not to be boring. No, I �m not trying to tap dance and put on a Broadway show for the kiddies, but I don�t want to always be up in front talking.

This week I felt like the teacher on Charlie Brown...�whahaahahah�ahahawwwuah.�

I just want to make the subject matter come alive for these kids; I want it to be relevant. The only way to do that is to make it as realistic as possible. *I* know that I left reality a long time ago...am I making my self clear? No? Well at least I�m consistent. Consistently loony. Yes, I am the crazy relative you only hear about at family reunions. They let me out 4 times a year to see the sun.

The only way to achieve my goal, is to make the kids, open up a book and do some of the work themselves. I know, it�s revolutionary really. A problem that is tough to get around is the total lack of resources. The finishing touches are still being put on the school, so all we really have at out finger tips as far as resources go, are the text books, which are not the greatest.

I wanted to get all of MY homework done before the close of business this fine Saturday, but it looks like I will be grading papers on Sunday. Grr.

Well, at least I slept 12 hours last night. It felt good to not get up at 4:30 am.

I know it�s one day at a time, step by step. I am being compelled to be organized. It�s a good thing for me, but such an adjustment. I�ll get there eventually!

I must say, however, that I do feel really fortunate. I have a great mentor teacher, and wonderful co-workers, although some of them do tend to get whiny and moany in the lunchroom. I won�t be eating in there anymore. I just can�t handle the negative vibes. It�s all about keeping it positive. I don�t want to know the bad stuff. I�m good to deal with what I�ve got.

I have to mention as well, I�ve made a rather nice friend. Her name is Beth, and she is also a brand new green bean. She is one of the special-ed teachers. I like her, we seem to have gravitated to each other. It�s nice to have another new person to reflect with. And it�s nice to know too, that she is as lost as I am!

*****

I put The Kiss back up on the page as well. I missed The Kiss. Subliminal message here: I miss being kissed.

Did I mention the fact that Mr. Levski comes to visit in 19 days, and that this alone is what is keeping me sane, while at the same time driving me insane?

I don�t know if I should just stand and look at him, and drink him in, as he gets off the plane or just tackle him right there in the airport?

Needless to say, I will never go this long without seeing him again. I don�t care what I have to do, but two months is too long to go with out seeing the one person that makes my life worth living.

�Gotta get yourself to the Grand Canyon...�

Song on the radio: "Your Kiss is What I Miss." by Hall & Oats

12:03 a.m. - August 11, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: