edensgarden's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"How are you going to get here?"

Can I just say that I have driven all over Disneyland today? It�s been one of those days, but the universe is in balance today because after six, yes, SIX long months, WE HAVE A FUNCTIONAL KITCHEN! The very cute counter installation boys came today and installed the counter. Father is, at this very moment, installing the sink and the cook-top! I think this calls for a celebration! Break out the Mac & Cheese, because I CAN MAKE IT MY NEW KITCHEN!!

A few comments on the Oscars; I didn�t really watch them, it�s just not my thing, however from what I did see, I would have to agree with Lisa Tote�s assessment of the whole affair. Very long, funny parts were funny � why can't we have more of those?

Last week at this time I was homeward bound from my vacation, but getting to the airport was an interesting ordeal.

My flight was out of �Philly� (see I�m using the local lingo!), but my sister lives in Bethlehem. She didn�t want to drive me down to the airport with two sick babies, and her husband was not able to leave work. So I was stuck. BIL suggested I find a shuttle service to get down to the airport. Easy enough I thought. I mean here in the greater Phoenix area we have several shuttle services that will take you where you need to go, why wouldn�t they a have similar service out in Pennsylvania.

Well turned out that the Supershuttle didn�t have shuttles in the area. The Yellow Pages only yielded numerous taxi and limo services. I started calling, and to my naive shock and horror the prices were steep oh so steep.

The following is a conversation I had with one of the services I found in the phone book.

�Hello, do you have service from Bethlehem to the PHL airport?�

Well, how are you going to get here?

Well, I�m in Bethlehem and I�m not that familiar with the area, so can you tell me if you have service from Bethlehem to Philadelphia?

How are you going to get here?

Do I need to come to your office to use your service? Is your office near Bethlehem?

You need to get here somehow.

I guess we do not understand each other. I�m in Bethlehem and I don�t know where your office is located, because I am not from this area. DO YOU HAVE A SERVCE THAT WILL DRIVE ME FROM BETHLEHEM TO PHILIDELPHA INTERANATIONAL AIRPORT IN PHILIDELPHA; IT�S A TOWN HERE IN PENNSLYVANIA?? AND DO I NEED TO COME TO YOUR OFFICE IN ORDER TO USE YOUR SERVICE?

Well, I don�t know. You have to get here, but we have limos that can drive you.

Well, I don�t think we are understanding each other, so I think I will call someone that can answer my questions.

I�m serious that was the real conversation. I don�t know what the problem was. I don�t think my questions were too outlandish. Was it me, was I speaking a foreign language? It was very confusing to say the least.

In the end I found a service that picked me up in Bethlehem and took me right to the front door of the Philadelphia International Airport in a timely and courteous manner. It was �Eden�s-Rent-Car-and-Drive-Yourself� service. I highly recommend it, no lingering questions, no confusion, and I controlled the radio button!

5:53 p.m. - March 25, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: